Task Force Participation

In addition, patrol officers and detectives are assigned to other specialized functions in addition to their primary duties. These responsibilities are:

Northern Ohio Violent Fugitive Task Force (NOVFTF)

Under the direction of the U.S. Marshal's Office, this multi-jurisdictional agency, represented by federal, state and local law enforcement agencies, search for and apprehend dangerous felons and fugitives who are located in the jurisdictions of the participating agencies. Two officers are assigned part-time to this organization which has been instrumental in the apprehension of Kent area fugitives.

U.S. Department of Justice Anti-Terrorism Task Force (ATTF)

Under the direction of U.S. Attorney of the Northern District of Ohio, this multi-jurisdictional agency coordinates the dissemination of information and development of investigative and prosecutorial strategy in dealing with terrorism. The Task Force acts as a conduit for intelligence information about suspected terrorist activity, which is shared by participating federal, state and local agencies. One officer is assigned part-time to this organization.

Portage County Drug Task Force

Under the direction of the Portage County Sheriff, this multi-jurisdictional agency investigates and apprehends offenders involved in the trafficking, distribution, and possession of illegal drugs within the communities of participating agencies. Membership includes the Portage County Sheriff's Office, the Portage County Prosecutor's Office, and the Kent, Aurora, Streetsboro, and Ravenna police departments. Each agency has at least one full time officer assigned to the Task Force.

Metro SWAT

This highly trained, professional multi-jurisdictional special weapons team responds to incidents within the jurisdictions of participating members that require special weapons and tactics (SWAT) to deal with riotous activity, large crowd control, barricaded suspects, execution of drug warrants, arrest of dangerous felons, and the rescue of hostages or endangered persons.

The organization is comprised of 20 Summit/ Portage County law enforcement agencies. The Kent community has needed the assistance of Metro SWAT 15 times in the past five years. There are three Kent officers assigned part-time to the team.